悬浮聚合

悬浮聚合,这种方式通常适用于非常大的聚合物,单体相对不溶于悬浮介质(通常是水),呈液滴状分散。悬浮聚合是通过搅拌器和分散剂的辅助来维持稳定,聚合物以悬浮液的形式离开反应器。实际上,聚合作用在生产中产生了一个本体聚合;每个小球体作为一个单独的反应堆,利用较大的表面积比体积来促进传热。水是一种很好的传热介质,在接触到传热表面后易冷却(一般是反应器壁),引发剂,可溶性单体也会被使用到。系统配有皂类稳定剂来协助保持住不同的聚合液滴。

聚合散热在小反应器中很容易做到,但在较大的反应器中会出现问题,因为侧壁的传热面积与体积的比率会下降。两种方式可以用于增加传热。如果回流温度可以产生一个符合要求的分子量分布的话,可采用悬浮介质回流。若不会造成过度污染问题的话,也可以使用内部冷却盘管。

在反应过程中,聚合的滴液会展现出不同程度的“粘性”,其会妨碍到容器换热表面。如果这些粘性滴液不能通过强烈的搅拌分离,就会有破坏反应系统的危险。

在反应完成时,聚合物通过洗涤会脱离稳定剂,通常是在未反应单体剥离聚合物的阶段完成。由于聚合物颗粒形状完好(通常为100目),一般可以直接使用。

这种聚合方法尤其适用于较硬且像玻璃一样的,氯乙烯和过氯乙烯的乙烯基聚合物,如PVC(聚氯乙烯)以及大部分的热塑性树脂。

FaLang translation system by Faboba

Suspension

In suspension, a method usually applied to very large polymers, monomers that are relatively insoluble in the suspending medium (generally water) are dispersed as liquid droplets. The suspension is maintained by agitators with the aid of suspending agents, and the polymer leaves the reactor in the form of a slurry. Actually polymerization proceeds as a bulk polymerization in manufacture; each globule being a separate reactor with a large surface to volume ratio facilitating heat transfer. The water suspending medium is a good heat transfer agent being easily cooled by contact with the heat transfer surface (generally the reactor walls), initiators, monomer soluble, are used. The system is supplied with soap-type stabilizers to assist in keeping the polymerizing droplets distinct from each other.

Removal of the heat of polymerization is easy in small reactors, but becomes a problem in larger ones due to the declining ratio of side wall heat transfer area to volume. Two methods are employed to increase heat transfer. A suspending medium reflux is available if the refluxing temperatures will yield a satisfactory molecular weight distribution. Internal cooling coils can be used if the fouling is not an excessive problem.

During the course of the reaction, the polymerizing droplets exhibit various degrees of “stickiness” which foul the vessel’s heat transfer surfaces and threaten destruction of the reacting system if these sticky droplets are not kept apart by the agitation intensity.

At the completion of the reaction, the polymer is freed from the stabilizer by washing, commonly accomplished during the phase where the unreacted monomer is stripped from the polymer. Since the polymer granules are of good size (typically 100 mesh), they can frequently be used directly.

This method of polymerization is particularly suitable for the production of hard, glass-like vinyl polymers from vinyl chloride and vinylidene chlorides such as PVC (Polyvinyl Chloride) as well as most if not all thermoplastic resins.

FaLang translation system by Faboba