溶液聚合

溶液聚合,顾名思义,单体溶于溶剂中进行混合。形成的聚合物可以溶于溶剂,也可能不溶。单体也可以以气态的形式呈现。

这种类型的聚合过程复杂性是相当突出的。在一些简单的系统中,单体,催化剂和反应溶剂无需加热或冷却。另一些极端情况下,某些采取连续生产法的合成橡胶需要复杂的技术和精良的设备。

其中一个要求最苛刻成本最高的问题是聚合物的分离和未反应单体和溶剂的回收。溶液法广泛应用于间歇式和连续式聚合,生成过程中大量的使用到搅拌设备例如在聚合反应器中和产品回收。

溶液聚合反应器:间歇式和连续式反应都使用带有夹套的搅拌器容器,甚至一些内部换热盘管也是如此。如果条件允许的话,可以采用回流冷却。连续式反应流程经常会涉及到多个反应器。系统还可以利用剩余的加工步骤结合一些间歇式反应来连续完成。

在间歇反应中,反应的完成程度往往是取决于粘度的增加和它对涡轮搅拌器最大功率的影响。完成后的粘度又决定了搅拌机在操作过程中采用75,000厘泊的粘度

无论是间歇反应还是连续式反应,聚合反应的终止有各种各样的方法。比较普遍终止聚合反应的方式是通过化学手段添加“速显剂或者失活催化剂”。有时在不能使用化学添加剂的情况下,依赖于改变聚合条件,如添加大量的溶剂或者降低温度。化学反应短暂停止后,间歇反应的终止发生在反应器中,而连续式反应的短暂停止发生在下游的内联搅拌器。

产品的回收:聚合物的分离随特定的系统而变化。由于聚合物是通过溶液聚合制成的,会有所不同,所以反应后聚合物从未反应单体和溶剂中分离的方法差异很大。

与其他方式的聚合相比溶液聚合的优势在于催化剂不是覆盖在聚合物上,因此提高了效率并简化了催化剂从产品中的去除,温度的控制,热传递和反应速率。

缺点包括聚合物的有限溶解度尤其是在高分子量时,这样会需要增加容器尺寸,提高粘度水平,从而增加搅拌和处理的难度,同时也使得聚合物从溶剂中分离的难度增加

溶液聚合的应用包括合成橡胶,丁基橡胶,聚乙烯和聚酯树脂。

FaLang translation system by Faboba

Solution

Solution, as the name implies, takes place from monomers which are dissolved in a solvent.  The resultant polymer can either be soluble or insoluble in this solvent.  The monomer can be presented in gaseous form as well.  

The range of process complexity in this type of polymerization is quite striking.  In some simple systems, monomer, catalyst, and solvent form a solution which reacts without having to be either heated or cooled.  At the other extreme, some continuously manufactured synthetic rubbers require elaborate techniques and equipment for success.

One of the demanding and most expensive problems associated with solution polymerization is the separation of the polymer and the recovery of the unreacted monomer and solvent.  Solution  processes are widely used in both batch and continuous polymerizations with all processes extensively using agitation equipment such as in the polymerization reactors and product recovery operations.   

Solution Reactors: Both batch and continuous reactors use agitated vessels equipped with jackets and even some internal heat transfer coils.  If conditions permit, reflux cooling can also be employed.  Continuous reaction schemes frequently involve a number of series reactors.  Systems can also involve a number of batch reactors with remaining processing steps accomplished continuously.

In a batch reactor, the degree of completion of the reaction is often monitored by the increase of viscosity and its effect upon turbine agitator power draw.  The finished viscosity again determines the agitator used satisfactorily to 75,000 cps.

In either the batch or continuous system, the polymerization reaction is terminated in various ways.  More frequently, the polymerization is stopped chemically by addition of a “shortstop or catalyst deactivator;” sometimes the method requires no chemical, but depends upon changing the polymerization conditions such as massive solvent addition or temperature lowering.  With chemical short stopping, the batch reaction termination occurs in the reactor while continuous reactors are shortstopped in downstream inline agitators.  

Recovery of the Product: Separation of the polymer varies with the specific system.  Since the polymers made by solution polymerization are so diverse, the method of isolating the polymer after reaction from unreacted monomer and solvent varies considerably.

Advantages of the solution polymerization method over others are the catalyst is not coated by the polymer thereby increasing the efficiency and simplifying the removal of the catalyst from the product, control of temperature, heat transfer, and reaction rates are also simplified.  

Disadvantages include limited solubility of the polymer especially at high molecular weights which can increase vessel size, increase viscosity levels, which are more difficult to agitate and handle, and difficulties associated with separating the polymer from the solvent.

Products which use Solution polymerization include synthetic rubbers, butyl rubber, polyethylene, and polyester resins.

FaLang translation system by Faboba