加氢反应器

一个合适的油或油脂氢化搅拌系统设计必须考虑的几点要求,包括,
a.    气体(氢)分散/传质
b.    气体源地释放
c.    传热
d.    催化剂悬浮

气体分散
凯米尼尔使用综合叶轮分析的搅拌系统来优化性能。BT-6气体分散叶轮作为下层叶轮可放于靠近进气口的地方。
A.    BT-6相比平叶片叶轮D-6(圆盘)具有更强的排液能力,并可以提高传质速率提高反应速率。
B.    BT-6叶轮相比D-6或涡轮叶轮在“有毒气体“的状态下表现更佳。加氢反应器的特点就是开始于高氢燃气率然后在反应的过程中比率慢慢下降。传统的D-6叶轮在叶片后会形成大腔体从而导致系统功率和传质能力大量的下降。为了解决这个问题,在正常的设计极限中必须采用更快的速度的来增加功率,这就要求高成本的变速驱动或双速电动机。

凯米尼尔BT-6叶轮通过更高的气体流速来增加腔体,因此与圆盘,平叶涡轮相比功率下降的较少(大约在60%)左右。因此,BT-6的设计可以使用单速电动机。使用BT-6叶轮来降低在有毒气体状态下功率的损失有以下好处:
1.    更多的功率可用于搅拌
2.    不再需要昂贵的双速电机或交流变频驱动器且大大降低了电机过载的可能性,因为凯米尼尔的设计性能并不依赖于速度的变化

C.    较强的排液能力结合在有毒气体中低损失的功率消耗确保加氢反应中催化剂的悬浮性。

气体源地释放
氢化反应通常始于较高的氢流动率。BT-6相比圆盘,平叶设计改善了传质,使更少的氢气逸出表面。重新将氢气混入来维持反应同时也能提高氢气的利用率。如果使用4叶片间距的叶轮(P-4)置于BT-6叶轮之上可以容易且高效的完成反应。P-4叶轮:
•    不断增加搅拌强度,形成漩涡把氢气从蒸汽域重新混入
•    结合适当的设计可以处理不同的液位
•    相比自吸式叶轮不会因缠绕而塞住
•    BT-6叶轮的高效性减少了氢气在气相中的数量使其加入混合

传热
氢化反应也会产生大量的热量,这些热量必须在反应过程中被去除。下层的BT-6叶轮可以很好的提高传热源的速率(夹套或内部线圈)。上层轴流型叶轮的使用不仅使气体再次混入,而且还能提供出色的混合,消除罐体上层的分区。典型上层叶轮的使用包括:P-4叶轮和Maxflo W (MW-4)叶轮。MW-4是宽叶片翼型叶轮非常适合为传热需要额外混合的有毒气体应用。相比自吸式上层叶轮这些轴流型叶轮提供了更多的流量且增加了热量在氢气中的去除率。

催化剂悬浮
除了混合和气体分散,在氢气反应中流动是必须的,这样做是为了使反应中使用的催化剂能够悬浮起来。催化剂通常是镍基,高流速的BT-6叶轮加上上层轴流型叶轮让上下流动变得更容易,悬浮效果更好,使得催化剂能分散在整个容器之中。

加氢反应器典型设计参数

分类

组合(气体分散、融合与运动,固体悬浮)
搅拌等级

2-3(混合运动)
完全分散(气体分散)

設計 5至8马力/1000加仑
葉輪 BT-6:下层叶轮
MW-4:中层叶轮
P-4:上层叶轮


如上图所示,一个合适的加氢反应器设计要求需要有可以处理几种反应过程的能力,例如:气体分散,液体混合,传热和固体悬浮。选择正确的叶轮系统和最佳功率/体积的设计会优化您的加氢反应器

FaLang translation system by Faboba

Hydrogenator

The design of a proper oil or fat hydrogenation agitation system must take into account several requirements, which include:

a.    Gas (Hydrogen) Dispersion/Mass Transfer
b.    Gas Re-Incorporation
c.    Heat Transfer
d.    Catalyst Suspension

Gas Dispersion

Chemineer utilizes an agitation system which incorporates a combination of impellers to optimize performance.  A lower BT-6 gas dispersion impeller located in close proximity to the gas inlet is utilized as the lower impeller.

  1. The BT-6 has a higher pumping capacity than a flat bladed disc impeller D-6 impeller (Rushton) which will improve mass transfer rates increasing reaction rates

  2. The BT-6 impeller maintains the power during the "gassed" state much better than a D-6 or Rushton impeller.  Hydrogenation reactors typically start out with high hydrogen gas rates and then the rate tapers off as the reaction progresses.  A conventional D6 impeller forms large cavities behind the blades which results in a substantial drop in hp delivered to the system and loss of mass transfer capability.  To combat this issue, a higher speed must be used to increase the power back to normal design limits, which requires a high cost variable speed drive or two-speed motor.

    The Chemineer BT-6 impeller develops these cavities at much higher gas flow rates, and hence the power drop is much less (by as much as 60%) as compared to the Rushton, flat-blade turbine.  Therefore, the BT-6 design can utilize a single speed motor.  Reducing the power drop off in the gassed state by the BT-6 impeller provides the following benefits:

    1. More power is available for mixing
    2. Expensive two-speed motors or ACVF drives are not required and motor overload potential is reduced since the Chemineer design does not rely on a speed change for performance
  3.  
  4. A combination of the higher pumping capacity and lower power drop off in the gassed state will ensure good suspension of the catalyst used in the hydrogenation reaction.

Gas Re-incorporation

The hydrogenation reaction typically starts with a high hydrogen flow rate to the system.  The BT-6 improves mass transfer over the Rushton, flat-bladed design and as such less hydrogen escapes to the surface.  It is important to re-incorporate the hydrogen into the batch to maintain the reaction and improve hydrogen utilization.  This is very easily and efficiently accomplished by using a 4-bladed pitched impeller (P-4), or impellers, located above the BT-6 impeller.  The P-4 impeller:

  • Provides increased mixing intensity and draws a vortex for the reincorporation of the hydrogen gas from the vapor space
  • With proper design can handle varying liquid levels
  • Does not plug of foul as compared to self inducing impellers
  • The efficiency of the BT-6 impeller reduces the amount of hydrogen in the gas phase to be reincorporated

Heat Transfer

Hydrogenation reactions also generate a large amount of heat which must be removed from the process.  The lower BT-6 does an excellent job of promoting velocity at the heat transfer source (jackets or internal coils).  The use of axial flow upper impellers not only reincorporates the gas, but also provides excellent mixing and eliminates zoning in the upper areas of the vessel.  Typical upper impellers used include the P-4 impeller and Maxflo W (MW-4) impeller.  The MW-4 is a wide-bladed hydrofoil impeller which is well suited for gassing applications which require additional blending for heat transfer.  These axial flow impellers provide more flow than self inducing upper impellers and increases the heat removal rate in the hydrogenator.  

Catalyst Suspension

In addition to blending and gas dispersion, flow is required in the hydrogenator to suspend the catalyst required for the reaction.  The catalyst is typically nickel based and the high flow rate of the BT-6 impeller and upper axial flow impeller(s) provides excellent top to bottom flow to easily and efficiently suspend and distribute the catalyst throughout the vessel.

Typical Design Parameters for Hydrogenators 

Classification

Combination (Gas Dispersion, Blending and Motion, Solids Suspension)
ChemScale

2-3 (Blending and Motion)
Uniform Suspension (Solids Suspension)
Complete Dispersion (Gas Dispersion)

Design 5 to 8 hp/1,000 gallons
Impellers BT-6: Lower Impeller
MW-4: Middler Impeller
P-4: Upper Impeller(s)

As shown above, a properly designed hydrogenator requires the ability to handle several processing requirements such as:  Gas Dispersion, Liquid Blending, Heat Transfer, and Solids Suspension.  Choosing the correct impeller system and designing with the optimum power/volume will optimize your hydrogenator and improve your processing efficiency.

 

FaLang translation system by Faboba