乳液聚合

虽然这种方法与悬浮聚合非常类似,但两种方式的着重面是不同的。聚合引发剂是水溶性的且聚合产生的颗粒直径通常在0.1微米左右,比悬浮聚合物中的最小颗粒还要小十倍。

典型体系包括大量的乳化剂(皂)用来维持乳状液和水溶性聚合引发剂。

在反应的初始阶段,聚合反应发生时形成胶束,它是由皂分子凝聚而成。聚合物的成型是单体分子通过水相扩散进入胶束。大约的聚合进程到3%时,进一步的聚合反应发生于已形成的聚合物颗粒中。单体滴液在这个阶段是不稳定的,如果停止搅拌,他们会凝聚成不含聚合物的连续相。单体的液滴就像储存器一样通过水相的扩散使聚合物颗粒结合。聚合进程到约80%的时候单体液滴会消失,一般在90%的时候聚合终止。对于一个成功的乳化聚合反应器来说搅拌强度和叶尖速度是至关重要的因素。

对未反应单体的回收和所得聚合物的分离标准的处理方式是剥离和喷雾干燥,通常,乳液体系比较稳定。

乳液聚合的优点是高分子量和窄分子量迅速聚合,粘度通常也比其他聚合方式低。用水作为介质聚合容易散热,适合生产粘软的聚合物。而它的缺点则在于聚合物经常会受到乳化剂污染,不可避免的透明度变差和产生其他一些不良特性

如与其他聚合方法结合,想要达到一个令人满意的聚合效果,散热和聚合物粘性是必须克服的问题。

由此方法制造的产品包括涂料和胶粘剂的聚醋酸乙烯酯,羧基丁苯共聚物丁苯橡胶和丁腈橡胶,和ABS(丙烯腈-丁二烯-苯乙烯聚合物)。

FaLang translation system by Faboba

Emulsion

Although this method is very similar to suspension polymerization, the two schemes differ in two important aspects; the polymerization initiator is located in the aqueous phase and the particles of polymer produced are typically in the order of 0.1 micron in diameter, some ten times smaller than the smallest encountered in suspension polymerization.

Typical recipes include a significant amount of emulsifier (soap) necessary to maintain the emulsion identity and water soluble polymerization initiators.

In the initial part of the reaction sequence, the polymerization takes place around seed sites called micelles which are aggregates of soap molecules. As polymer is formed, these micelles grow by the addition of monomer from the water phase. At about 3% polymerization, further polymerization takes place within the polymer particles already formed. The monomer droplets are unstable at this stage and, if the agitation is stopped, they would coalesce into a continuous phase containing no polymer. Droplets of monomer act as reservoirs which feed the growing polymer particles by diffusion through the water phase. Monomer droplets disappear at about 80% completion and generally the polymerization is terminated at about 90% completion. The agitation intensity and impeller tip speed are vital factors in a successful emulsion polymerization reactor.

The recovery of the unreacted monomer and the isolation of the resultant polymer are handled in standard ways by stripping and spray drying. Frequently, the emulsion may be directly unstable.

The advantages of emulsion polymerization are that its use permits a rapid polymerization to a high molecular weight with narrow molecule weight distribution, the viscosity is typically lower than other methods, heat is relatively easy to remove from the reactor with water as the continuous phase and suitable for the production of soft and sticky polymers. The disadvantages of emulsion polymerization is that the resin produced frequently becomes contaminated with the emulsifier, almost inevitably leading to poor clarity and other undesirable properties.

As with other methods of polymerization, heat removal and polymer stickiness must be overcome for a satisfactory production scheme.

Products made by this method include polyvinyl acetate for paint and adhesives, carboxylated styrene-butadiene copolymer, SBR and Buna-N rubbers, and ABS (Acrylonitrile-butadiene-styrene polymer).

FaLang translation system by Faboba