混合运动

许多不同的搅拌机应用都可归为混合运动。这些应用中,简单的液体混合、液体存储、传热和间歇反应器都是一些比较常见的。搅拌等级设计方法着重于同类元素混合或涡轮搅拌设计,但也未忽视某些应用的独特性。为了找出和量化混合问题中的共同特性,比如尺寸,难度和动态响应,这些因素都会被考量在整个设计过程。 对于混合运动的问题,尺寸是指当量体积,难度是指液体的粘度,动态响应则是指主体流速。混合运动的搅拌等级设计方法可分解如下:

范畴:当被搅拌的介质是单项液体或是混合液体时,混合运动的搅拌等级设计方法应当被考虑采用。有时候,介质中含有微量固体或有气体生成,但其表现得就像是液体的一部分,这时混合运动的设计方法可被使用。

尺寸:对于混合运动搅拌等级设计方法中搅拌机尺寸大小是指“当量体积”。 当量体积等于实际体积乘以比重。

难度:流体粘度是流体运动中最大的阻力,即便在湍流的情况下。通过研究粘度对流体速度和工艺效果的影响,我们可以确定流体属性和搅拌机设计尺寸之间的关系,其属于搅拌等级设计方法。

动态响应:涡轮搅拌机的终极目标就是要达到理想的工艺效果。然而,实际情况是很难非常精准得表达出工艺效果,或者将效果关联到某个单一的搅拌机。 因此, 设计逻辑应该始于选择一个合适的动态响应,从而使搅拌机的设计达到那个响应。

对于混合运动的应用来说动态响应就是主体流速。将叶轮的排液量除以正方形容器的横截面积(使其容器体积等同于实际容器)计算得出主体流速。大量的工艺经验表明,主体流速的大小会直接影响到工艺效果相关的搅拌强度,就是说不考虑批量规模的话,流速通常决定了“强度”。 主体流速范围从6 到 60英尺/分钟已可基本涵盖大多数涡轮搅拌器混合运动的应用特征。为了方便和一致性考虑,搅拌等级1到10级被用于描述主体流速相关的混合运动应用,如下公式:

 搅拌等级=  主体流速(英尺/分钟) 
 6

虽然搅拌等级直接关联到主体流速,但其真正的目的是要与表达工艺效果的搅拌强度相关联,如下表格所示。这些定义的运用可加强应用经验的表达。由于搅拌等级的级别是基于流体运动和工艺性能,因此设计等级不会因为不同的叶轮而改变。搅拌机的选择,功率和转速的组合,会随着叶轮的效率而改变。对于混合运动的应用,高效叶轮例如XE-3,HE-3和SC-3,将会是最佳选择。

搅拌等级

 

主体流速(英尺/分钟)  

工艺性能描述

1
2
  6
12
 

搅拌等级1和2级是需要最小流速即可实现工艺效果的应用

搅拌等级达到2的搅拌能力:

  • 如果液体间的比重差异小于0.1,易溶液体能均匀混合
  • 如果粘度比小于100,易溶液体能均匀混合
  • 可完全控制一批流体
  • 液体表面产生平缓的流动
       
3
4
5
6
  18
24
30
36
 

搅拌等级3-6级是化工行业最常见的。其流速足以控制工艺条件中微小变量,从而达到常规搅拌效果。

搅拌等级达到6的搅拌能力:

  • 如果液体间的比重差异小于0.6,易溶液体能均匀混合
  • 如果粘度比小于10,000,易溶液体能均匀混合
  • 悬浮固体(<2%)的沉降速率2-4英尺/分钟
  • 在粘度较低的物料情况下,液体表面产生微小波动
  • 除了最苛刻的工况条件,可提供足够的搅拌以胜任所有热传递过程
       
7
8
9
10
  42
48
54
60
 

搅拌等级7-10级是需要高流速来实现最大搅拌强度的应用,比如关键反应釜。

搅拌等级达到10的搅拌能力:

  • 如果液体间的比重差异小于1.0,易溶液体能均匀混合
  • 如果粘度比小于100,000,易溶液体能均匀混合
  • 悬浮固体(<2%)的沉降速率4-6英尺/分钟
  • 在较低粘度的物料情况下,液体表面产生强烈翻腾
  • 可在最短的时间内完成一釜料的均匀混合
FaLang translation system by Faboba

Blending and Motion

Many different agitator applications fall into the category of Blending and Motion.  Among these applications, simple liquid blending, liquid storage, heat transfer and batch reactors are some of the more common.   The ChemScale design procedure emphasizes the common elements or turbine agitator design, but also does not neglect unique features of some applications.  To express and quantify the common characteristics of blending problems, terms such as size, difficulty, and dynamic response are used throughout this procedure.  For Blending and Motion problems, size is the equivalent volume, difficulty is the viscosity of the liquid, and dynamic response is the bulk fluid velocity.  The Blending and Motion ChemScale design procedure is broken down as follows:

Category:The Blending and Motion ChemScale design procedure should be considered whenever the material to be
agitated is liquid or a combination of liquids.  In some cases the Blending and Motion procedure is used when small quantities of solids or gases are present as finely divided materials which behave as if they were part of the liquid.

Size: The size of an agitator problem for the Blending and Motion ChemScale is the “Equivalent Volume”.  Equivalent Volume is equal to the actual volume multiplied by the specific gravity.

Difficulty: Fluid viscosity is the ultimate resistance to fluid motion even in turbulent flow.  By studying the effects of viscosity on liquid velocities and process results we can determine the appropriate relationship between fluid properties and agitator size, which is incorporated into the ChemScale design procedure.

Dynamic Response: The ultimate purpose of a turbine agitator is to achieve a desired process result.  However it is often difficult to state the process result with precision, or to relate that result to one specific agitator.  Therefore, the design logic begins with the selection of an appropriate dynamic response, followed by the design of agitators that will give that response.  

The dynamic response for Blending and Motion applications is the Bulk Fluid Velocity.   The Bulk Fluid velocity is calculated from the pumping capacity of the impellers divided by the cross sectional area of  a square vessel of equal volume as the actual vessel.   Extensive process experience has shown that the magnitude of the fluid velocity has a direct effect on the process results associated with the agitation intensity and that equal velocities generally result in similar “intensities” regardless of the batch size.  A Bulk Fluid Velocity ranging from 6 to 60 ft/min characterizes the majority of applications of turbine agitators for Blending and Motion.  For convenience and consistency a ChemScale level from 1 to 10 is assigned to the bulk fluid velocities associated with Blending and Motion applications as follows:

ChemScale= BulkFluidVelocity(ft/min)
6

Although ChemScale levels are related directly to bulk velocities, the real intent is to relate the agitation intensity to process results as shown in the table below.  The utility of these definitions can be enhanced with application experience.  Since ChemScale levels are based on fluid motion and process performance the design levels do not change for different impeller designs.  The agitator selections, horsepower and speed combinations, will change based on the efficiency of the impeller.  For Blending and Motion applications, high efficiency impellers such as the XE-3, HE-3, and SC-3, will provide the most optimum selection.  

ChemScale Level

 

Bulk Fluid Velocity(ft/min)  

Process Performance Description

1
2
6
12
ChemScale levels of 1 and 2 are characteristic of applications requiring minimal fluid velocities to achieve the process result.
Agitators capable of a ChemScale of 2 will:
  • Blend miscible fluids to uniformity if specific gravity differences are less than 0.1
  • Blend miscible fluids to uniformity if viscosity ratios are less than 100
  • Establish complete fluid batch control
  • Produce a flat by moving fluid surface

3
4
5
6
18
24
30
36
ChemScale levels of 3 to 6 are characteristic of the most common agitator applications in the Chemical Process Industries.  Fluid velocities are sufficient to control minor variations in process conditions and achieve typical results.
Agitators capable of a ChemScale of 6 will:
  • Blend miscible fluids to uniformity if specific gravity differences are less than 0.6
  • Blend miscible fluids to uniformity if viscosity ratios are less than 10,000
  • Suspend trace solids (<2%) with settling rates of 2 to 4 ft/min
  • Produce surface rippling at lower viscosities
  • Provide sufficient motion for adequate heat transfer is all but the most severe situations

7
8
9
10
42
48
54
60
ChemScale levels of 7 to 10 are characteristic of applications requiring high fluid velocities to achieve the maximum practical intensities such as critical reactors.
Agitators capable of a ChemScale of 10 will:
  • Blend miscible fluids to uniformity if specific gravity differences are less than 1.0
  • Blend miscible fluids to uniformity if viscosity ratios are less than 100,000
  • Suspend trace solids (<2%) with settling rates of 4 to 6 ft/min
  • Produce surface surging motion at lower viscosities
  • Provides minimum practical blend time for the batch volume

The pumping capacity of an impeller system will ultimately determine the Bulk Fluid Velocity, and hence the ChemScale.  Once the appropriate dynamic response (ChemScale) is chosen for the applications, the optimization of the impeller system is the next step.  High Efficiency impellers will provide optimum performance provided the correct number and diameter are selected.   As the viscosity increases larger impeller diameters and additional impellers may be beneficial to the process.  Computational Fluid Mixing is beneficial in showing the differences between impeller types, locations, number of impellers, and viscosity effects (Impeller CFM).  

FaLang translation system by Faboba